October - 2019
  01 02 03 04 05 06
07 08 09 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 25 26 27
28 29 30 31  




Andrea Lantosné Pósvai

Judit Tóth

Office Hours:

Monday: 13:00--15:00

Wednesday: 09:00--14:00

Friday: 09:00--12:00


Institute of Geography, Geoeconomy and Sustainable Development

Corvinus University of Budapest


Közraktár u. 6, Floor No.5, Room No.533. (Building C)

Budapest, H-1093


Mission Statement


The Institute of Geography, Geoeconomy and Sustainable Development was established at the end of 2015, integrating three departments with long histories in related research areas: the Department of Economic Geography, founded by noted geographer and former prime minister of Hungary, Pál Teleki in 1920, the Department of Environmental Economics and Technology established in the 1980s and a research group focusing on future studies.

The mission of the Institute is to conduct research in the fields of spatial planning, regional studies, geostrategy, sustainable development and future studies, and to provide knowledge regarding spatial, developmental and environmental issues to students of the University’s business, economics and social science programmes. The basis for this is a cooperative, multi- and interdisciplinary scientific approach.

Colleagues from the Central Bank of Hungary also contribute to the Institute’s research and education activities, in accordance with a cooperation agreement signed by the Central Bank of Hungary and the Corvinus University of Budapest in 2015.

The Institute is composed of three centres:

• The Centre for Economic Geography and Future Studies

• The Centre for Geostrategy

• The Centre for Sustainable Development


To top

Memberships in International, Professional and Policy Organisations

  • Urban Affairs Association

    Geo Institute is an institutional member of the Urban Affairs Association. János Balázs Kocsis Phd is the representative of our Institute.

Our colleagues’ memberships in international organisations

Our colleagues’ memberships in professional organisations

  • MUT – Hungarian Society for Urban Planning
  • Hungarian Geographic Society
  • MRTT – Hungarian Regional Science Association
  • ECOVAST – Hungarian Council for the Village and Small Town
  • National Environment Council
  • Partnership Agreement Monitoring Committee
  • Climate Strategy Platform, Budapest
  • Hungarian Academy of Sciences Section IX. Committee on Statistics and Future Research
  • Hungarian Academy of Sciences Social Welfare Committee
  • Hungarian Academy of Sciences Section IX. Gazdaságtudományi Doktori Minősítő Bizottság
  • Hungarian Academy of Sciences Bolyai János Kutatási Ösztöndíj Kuratóriuma, IX. Szakértői Kollégium
  • Hungarian Academy of Sciences Doctoral Council
  • BME Faculty of Economic and Social Sciences
  • Magyar Szakképzési Társaság Tudományos Tagozata
  • Hungarian Economic Association
  • Hungarian Economic Association, Social Economic Section

To top

Last modified: 2019.10.16.