Jump to main content
Back to main page

Senate reform – Representation in line with the new organizational structure

2022-09-13 17:16:32

In 2022, Corvinus University of Budapest reached an important milestone, having completed the first phase of the renewal of Corvinus. The final step in the organisational transformation of the University has been taken, and this academic year will start with the new institutional structure, restructured along the lines of the University's collegial aspects and unified operational principles.
Corvinus Épület

The current composition and electoral system of the Senate was established while the faculties were still in place, so, it was not in line with the organisational changes that took place at the University in 2022 as part of the renewal process. At the last meeting of the Senate in the summer, the Rector of the University therefore asked an ad hoc committee of eight members to review the composition of the Senate and the election of its members, in order to ensure that representation was properly applied in line with the new organisational structure.

The proposal, drafted by an ad hoc committee chaired by the Vice-Rector for Academic Development, was presented to the Senate at its meeting on 13 September. The Senate voted 17 in favour, 7 against and 0 abstentions in favour of the amendment to the Organisational and Operational Procedures and the adoption of Annex 1 on the Rules for the Election of the Senate. The adoption of the rules will be decided by the Board of Trustees at its meeting prospectively at the end of September.

The proposed composition of the new Senate is in line with the current structure of the University. The new Senate would consist of 34 members, with 18 elected members and 10 ex-officio members. The Corvinus Senate would also include representation of the student community (5 members) and, with modified powers, the trade union (1 member). The new Senate would essentially be an academic-focused body, with 74% (25/34) of its members being academics. The non-academic area would be represented by 3 elected representatives.

Copied to clipboard
GEN.:2024.07.12. - 16:30:09