Jump to main content

About our Department

The study of alternative development pathways

The Department of Geography, Geoeconomy and Sustainable Development was established at the end of 2015 as an Institute, integrating three departments with long histories in related research areas: the Department of Economic Geography, founded by noted geographer and former prime minister of Hungary, Pál Teleki in 1920, the Department of Environmental Economics and Technology established in the 1980s and a research group focusing on future studies.

The mission of the Department is to conduct research in the fields of spatial planning, regional studies, geostrategy, sustainable development and future studies, and to provide knowledge regarding spatial, developmental and environmental issues to students of the University’s business, economics and social science programmes. The basis for this is a cooperative, multi- and interdisciplinary scientific approach.

Colleagues from the Central Bank of Hungary also contribute to the Department’s research and education activities, in accordance with a cooperation agreement signed by the Central Bank of Hungary and the Corvinus University of Budapest in 2015.

The Department is composed of three centres:

  • The Centre for Economic Geography and Future Studies
  • The Centre for Geostrategy
  • The Centre for Sustainable Development

Copied to clipboard
GEN.:2024.06.25. - 14:47:11