February - 2018
  01 02 03 04
05 06 07 08 09 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28  


Hungary is a member of the OECD, NATO, and the EU and is a Schengen state. Administratively, Hungary is divided into 19 counties. In addition, the capital city, Budapest, is independent of any county government.

Hungary is one of the 15 most popular tourist destinations in the world with a capital regarded as one of the most beautiful cities. Despite its relatively small size, the country is home to numerous World Heritage Sites, UNESCO Biosphere reserves, the second largest thermal lake in the world (Lake Hévíz), the largest lake in Central Europe (Lake Balaton), and the largest natural grassland in Europe (Hortobágy).

Basic information

Area: 93 030 km2

Population: 9 900 000

Neighbouring countries: Austria, Slovakia, Ukraine, Romania, Serbia, Croatia, Slovenia

Official language: Hungarian

State form: Parliamentary republic

Capital and largest city: Budapest (population: 1 700 000)

Currency: Forint (HUF)

Time zone: CET (GMT +1)

Major rivers: Danube (417 km), Tisza (597 km)

Largest lakes: Balaton, Lake Velence

Highest point above sea level: Kékes (1014 m) in the Mátra Hills

For more information please visit:






Photo source:

Last modified: 2016.07.28.